PEN/Hemingway Award

The late Mary Hemingway, a member of PEN, founded the award in 1976 both to honor the memory of her husband, Ernest Hemingway, and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction. The award is funded by the Hemingway Family, the Hemingway Foundation & Society, and PEN New England. Major support is also provided by Mary & Kurt Cerulli. 

In addition to $20,000, the winner also receives a one-week residency in the Distinguished Visiting Writers Series at the University of Idaho’s MFA Program in Creative Writing. All competition honorees receive Ucross Residency Fellowships at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming, a retreat for artists and writers. A panel of three distinguished fiction writers selects the winner.

For more information about the award, visit the PEN/Hemingway Award at PEN New England

2016 pen/hemingway Award

The 201g PEN/Hemingway Award was won by Ottessa Moshfegh.


Learn about a Challenge Grant issued by Steve Paul and Carol Zastoupil to raise money for the PEN Hemingway.