PEN/Hemingway Award

The late Mary Hemingway, a member of PEN, founded the award in 1976 both to honor the memory of her husband, Ernest Hemingway, and to recognize distinguished first books of fiction. The award is funded by the Hemingway Family, the Hemingway Foundation & Society, and PEN America. Major support is also provided by Mary & Kurt Cerulli. 

All competition honorees receive Ucross Residency Fellowships at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming, a retreat for artists and writers. A panel of three distinguished fiction writers selects the winner.

For more information about the award, visit the PEN/Hemingway area of the PEN America wesbite.

2020 pen/hemingway Award

The 2020 PEN/Hemingway Award was won by Ruchika Tomar for A Prayer for Travelers.

For a list of all previous winners click here


Please consider supporting this award with a donation.